In an effort to allow users to have fine-grained control the access they give to Applications, Google has implemented checkboxes in the authorization screen as seen below. If the checkboxes are not ticked, we don't get the authorization required for the Application to access your data and will cause a failure. You may see an error message displayed after trying to connect, which is a warning that the checkboxes were not ticked and that you need to connect again for the connection to be successful.

For more information please see this article: https://developers.googleblog.com/2018/10/more-granular-google-account